Ashwini Nakshatra

Ashwini Nakshatra is the first Nakshatra in Hindu astrology. It possesses a spread from 0°-0′-0″ to 13°-20′. It corresponds to the head of Aries & comprises of the twin stars called the Alpha Arietis (Sasra) and the Beta Arietis (Satya) – the healers of the Gods.

In electional astrology as mentioned in the epics Ramayana & Mahabharata, Ashwini classifies as a small constellation, and this Nakshatra is believed to be auspicious for new beginnings of a precise or delicate nature when the moon is in Ashwini. The ruling deities for Ashwini are the heavenly twin physicians – the Ashwini Kumaras, who served the Lords. Symbolically, Ashwini is considered to be the wife of the Ashwini Kumaras.

Ashwini Nakshatra Characteristics & Features

Ashwini Nakshatra Ruling Planet  Ketu
Nakshatra Number  1
Nakshatra Gender  Male
Nakshatra Symbol  Head of a horse, honey and the bee hive
Animal Symbol  A Male Horse
Presiding Deity  Ashwini Kumaras, the golden armored horse-headed twins
Nature  Deva (God-like)
Dosha  Vata
Ashwini Nakshatra Rashi (Zodiac)  Mesha (Aries)
Guna  Sattwa
Element  Earth
Disposition  Moveable/ variable
Ashwini Nakshatra Baby Names  Names start with Chu, Che, Cho, La


Males and females born under the Ashwini Star have mostly the same characteristics & qualities.

  • Polite and charming in nature
  • Well mannered
  • Good physical appearance
  • Skilled
  • Knowledgeable
  • Intelligent

Strengths/ Positives

  • Almost always in a lively mood
  • Bold & courageous
  • Adventurous
  • Youthful
  • Very direct
  • Competent workers
  • Motivated to step into new ventures
  • Self-sufficient
  • Natural healers
  • Cooperative & helpful
  • Intuitive
  • Drawn to activities of healing or self-improvement

Areas of Concern/ Problems

  • Troubles in married life
  • Lack of conjugal bliss
  • Incomplete projects keep piling up.
  • Prone to become habitual of consumption of alcohol or sexual activities
  • Become impulsive at times


  • Hasty and impulsive
  • Inefficient for long-term commitments
  • Quick tempered
  • Do not take advice well
  • Aggressive
  • Stubborn & haughty
  • Easily disappointed
  • Always dissatisfied
  • Lack mental peace & serenity
  • Overly passionate

The Name of the 28 Nakshatras are as follows:

Scroll to Top